Rabbits v Dolphins, Bears, Storm & Dogs

By Steve Mavin for Bunnies TV.

Breaking News

News broke today that Latrell Mitchell’s season is not over. The plan is to manage the foot injury and not get surgery yet. Further scans in 2 weeks will be done to check the progress of the injury.

No surprises in first grade with Jye Gray and Liam Le Blanc replacing Trell Mit and Cam Murray. Siliva Havili returns on the extended bench.

Shaq, Latrell & Matt Mitchell at Redfern Oval.

It’s Round 19 for the South Sydney Rabbitohs NRL, NSW Cup and Jersey Flegg Cup teams. It’s Round 2 for our Women’s team. All four sides meet different opponents from Thursday night through to Monday night. NRL v Dolphins, NSW Cup v Bears, Jersey Flegg Cup v Storm and Women’s v Bulldogs.

Thursday night footy will be the first time the Rabbitohs have travelled up to play the Dolphins on their home ground, Kayo Stadium in Redcliffe, Queensland. Forget the Super Bowl this clash is the ‘Bennett Bowl’ with all the chips on the table. Souths need to go ‘all in’ for this one, it’s a season defining game.

A Must Win

South Sydney have to win their 6th game in a row. They then have to keep that streak going to have any chance of playing finals footy. The Bunnies have won 6 games now but the Dolphins, Sea Eagles, Knights and Dragons all have 8 wins and hover around 8th spot on the ladder. Win number 7 consolidates our position, a loss will take the wind from our sails.

Rabbits v Dolphins, Bears, Storm & Dogs
4 teams v 4 different opponents.

Official NRL Team Announcement

The South Sydney Rabbitohs are pleased to announce their squad for round 19 of the 2024 NRL Premiership
against the Dolphins to be played this Thursday 11 July at 7:50pm at Kayo Stadium.

Rabbitohs interim Head Coach Ben Hornby has named Jye Gray at fullback, Michael Chee Kam in the second
row and Liam Le Blanc on the interchange bench for the Club’s second consecutive Thursday night game.
The South Sydney Rabbitohs’ squad for the round 19 clash with the Dolphins is:

  1. Jye Gray
  2. Alex Johnston
  3. Taane Milne
  4. Richie Kennar
  5. Jacob Gagai
  6. Jack Wighton
  7. Cody Walker (c)
  8. Davvy Moale
  9. Damien Cook
  10. Sean Keppie
  11. Michael Chee Kam
  12. Jai Arrow
  13. Keaon Koloamatangi
  14. Peter Mamouzelos
  15. Tallis Duncan
  16. Thomas Burgess
  17. Liam Le Blanc
  18. Dion Teaupa
  19. Fletcher Myers
  20. Siliva Havili
  21. Izaac Tu’itupou Thompson
  22. Thomas Fletcher
    Coach – Ben Hornby


The South Sydney Rabbitohs’ NSW Cup and Jersey Flegg Cup teams will head to Coogee Oval this Sunday to host the Mario Fenech Cup in round 19 action in their respective competitions, with the Harvey Norman NSW Women’s premiership team set to take on the Bulldogs in the feature Monday night game of round two. 

The KOE NSW Cup round 19 match between the Rabbitohs and the North Sydney Bears will be the second leg of the Mario Fenech Cup for season 2024, at 3pm on Sunday 14 July. The trophy for which the foundation clubs are playing is named after South Sydney and North Sydney legend, Mario Fenech, with the winner determined by the aggregate scores for the two regular season games played each year between the teams. The Bears won this year’s round 11 clash 30 points to 20, meaning the Rabbitohs will need to win by 11 points or more to secure the title.

The Jersey Flegg Cup fixture against the Melbourne Storm will commence at 1pm on Sunday 14 July at Coogee Oval. Tickets for these matches are available at the gate on game day. 


This is the second year that the Rabbitohs have played a pathways double-header at Coogee Oval in South Sydney heartland. Entry is free for Rabbitohs Members. Tickets for non-Members start from just $10 and are available for pre-purchase here.

The Rabbitohs Harvey Norman NSW Women’s Premiership team will play their round two match on Monday 15 July at the NSWRL Centre of Excellence at Sydney Olympic Park with kick off scheduled for 7pm.


Another loss to the Eels on Thursday continues an abysmal season for our Cup team. The final score was 4 tries all so the Rabbitohs did fight their way back into the contest. Unfortunately 11th on the ladder with only 4 wins, a draw and 11 losses speaks for itself. That is not good enough and on Sunday it does not get any easier. The top of the table Bears have won 12, had 1 draw and just 3 losses.

Izaac Tu’itupou Thompson is back on the wing and Jarrett Subloo will play five eight. Brock Gray makes a welcome return from a knee injury on the bench.

The NSW Cup team to play North Sydney for the Mario Fenech Cup is:

1- Bayleigh Bentley-Hape
2- Leon Te Hau
3- Brandon Webster-Mansfield
4- Fletcher Myers
5- Izaac Tu’itupou Thompson
6- Jarrett Subloo
7- Dion Teaupa
8- Billy Tsikrikas
9- Ryan Gray
10- Yileen Gordon (c)
11- Thomas Fletcher
12- Adam Christensen
13- Matthew French 


14- Chase Chapman
15- Brock Gray
16- Gordon Whippy
17- Henry O’Kane 

Coach – Joe O’Callaghan

The match will be live on NSWRLTV.

Jersey Flegg Cup

Our Jersey Flegg boys were embarrassed by the Eels on Saturday, beaten 46-0. Unbelievably, Parramatta were below us on the table so the result was surprising to say the least. This week we play a Storm team that also sits below us on the ladder. Will the Souths boys bounce back?

Rowan McIntosh is back on the wing. Carson Kaho moves to five eight. Jared Johnson will start in the second row.

The Jersey Flegg Cup team to play the Storm is:

1- Emmanuel Di Bartolo
2- Rowan McIntosh
3- Daniel Wright
4- Zane Rugless
5- Dane Towns
6- Carson Kaho
7- Mark Nosa
8- Toby Sullivan
9- Jordan Plath
10- Palu Tausala
11- Jared Johnson
12- Josh Alhazim
13- Louis Grossemy 


14- Archie Donnelly
16- Jarvis Leafa
17- Drew Williams
18- Hayden Molkentien
19- Daniel Matakaiongo
22- Tyrese Dungay 

Coach – Chris O’Connell

Women’s Premiership

A sparkling debut by the 2024 Rabbitohs Women’s team saw them get the 2 points in round 1. A very proud coach Jason Dorahy told Bunnies TV “We had a great start to the season. Tough week next week against the Bulldogs…plenty to improve on.”

Nancy Sullivan on the burst!

Portia Bourke replaces Ema Rainima in the centres. Anastasia Shum-Cotrell comes on to the bench for Abbie Ritchie.

The Harvey Norman NSW Women’s Premiership team to play the Bulldogs is:

1- Daisy Gordon
2- Paige Knapp
3- Kiana Takairangi
4- Portia Bourke
5- Shanelle Lyons
6- Tarnayar Hinch
7- Maddie Studdon (c)
8- Nancy Sullivan
9- Sian Filipo
10- Janaya Trapman
11- Mary Latu
12- Jazmon Tupou-Witchman
13- Jade Etherden 


14- Mikayla Langer
15- Sienna Morgan
16- Josie Maejiirs
17- Anastasia Shum-Cotrell
18- Jenaye Collins 

Coach – Jason Dorahy

The match will be ive on NSWRLTV.

Rabbits v Dolphins, Bears, Storm & Dogs.

Add comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *